WE'RE PLANTING TREES

We're saving the forests and rebuilding it!


NOT ONLY STREETS AND BUILDINGS NEED TO BE REBUILT PERIODICALLY. EVEN OURS FORESTS REQUIRE RENOVATION! FRAGILE FORESTS NEED STRONG TREES IN ORDER TO BE TRANSFORMED INTO RESILIENT MIXED WOODLANDS.

WE ARE CONTRIBUTING TO REFORESTATION WITH OUR „PLANT-A-TREE-CAMPAIGN“



For years, we have observed our weather becoming more and more extreme. Periods of hot temperatures and severe weather are increasing. The effects of climate change are negatively impacting our woodlands; the outlook is particularly grim for spruce forests. Because their roots are shallow, spruces rely on consistent rainfall and can experience significant damage in strong storms. Climate change has the potential to cause more degradation to our forests in the future.

In 2019 we started planting trees near the Bavarian Spitzingsee.

Fast-growing spruces are the most important trees for reforestation. In order for the forests to survive, they must be replenished. We can transform our fragile coniferous forests into resilient mixed woodlands, consisting of 30% broad-leafed trees or firs. This process will take several decades, so we must start today.

Every 25th Banff Tour Ticket = 1 tree


tree icon

ALONG WITH OUR PARTNERS VAUDE AND THE GERMAN ALPINE CLUB, WE WANT TO HELP PREPARE OUR FORESTS FOR CLIMATE CHANGE. THEREFORE, WE WILL PLANT ONE TREE FOR EVERY 25TH VISITOR OF THE BANFF TOUR 2022.

Why we should protect our forests:

10,000 square metres of forest...



filter up to 50 tons of soot and dust from the air

release up to 30 tons of oxygen per year

store about 10 tons of CO2 per year

can produce up to 160,000 cubic metres of new groundwater in its lifespan

Flower icon

Thank you to all Banff Tour visitors for your support!

10 Tips to Protect Trees and Conserve Forests:

1. Use wood and paper products sparingly

The best and easiest way to preserve forests is to reduce your use of wood and paper products. Wood is a renewable resource, but its availability is limited. Think before you print!

2. Use recycled paper

Using recycled paper can contribute to reducing or preventing deforestation. One in every five trees cut down in the world ends up in paper production. We use almost 250 kg of paper per capita per year.

3. Look for environmental certifications

Organizations promoting environmentally conscious products and services grant certifications and seals of approval that are subject to stringent environmental standards. For example, the "Blue Angel" ecolabel on paper products signifies 100% recycled materials, no harmful chemicals, and high quality standards. The FSC® and PEFC™ seals promote responsible and sustainable forest management by identifying wood products, such as printing paper or packaging material, that have been produced using high environmental standards in raw material production.

4. Buy eco-friendly products and foods

In order to protect rainforests and conserve resources, it is advisable to buy local and regional food and, when purchasing internationally traded products, ensure they are fair trade and organic.

5. Eat less meat

The rising global demand for soy, the largest source of animal feed, has led to the clear-cutting of rainforests to make room for growing and cultivating soya.

6. Avoid products containing palm oil

Palm oil plantations continue to contribute to widespread deforestation.

7. Become a forest advocate

Support local forestry organizations or projects through sponsorships, volunteer work, or tree donations.

8. Talk about your commitment

Whether among friends or family or during coffee with colleagues, talk about your commitment to environmental conservation. This can promote understanding, interest, and participation and may even lead to a collaborative team event.

9. Offset or compensate for your CO2 consumption

Whenever possible, keep your car parked in the garage and take your bike. If you must use air travel, choose an eco-conscious airline—for example, Lufthansa enables passengers a couple of options to compensate for the CO2 emissions caused by their flight. Other approaches for offsetting your carbon footprint include planting a tree, contributing to the development of renewable and sustainable energy sources, or replacing household kerosene use with CO2-neutral fuels.

10. Use a search engine with an ecological approach

Ecosia is a search engine based in Berlin, Germany, that donates 80% of its profits to nonprofit organizations that focus on reforestation. Through ad revenue, this ecological search engine uses your clicks as currency. Each time you search via www.ecosia.org, you are helping to plant trees where they are needed most.

HERE YOU'LL FIND ALL DATES OF THE BANFF TOUR 2022:

WIR PFLANZEN BÄUME


Wir retten den Wald – und bauen um!


NICHT NUR STRASSEN UND GEBÄUDE MÜSSEN MANCHMAL UMGEBAUT WERDEN. AUCH UNSER WALD HAT EINE RENOVIERUNG NÖTIG! WETTER-ANFÄLLIGE WÄLDER BENÖTIGEN STÄRKENDE BÄUME, UM SICH IN WIDERSTANDSFÄHIGE MISCHWÄLDER ZU VERWANDELN. ​

HIER SETZEN WIR MIT UNSERER „BAUMPFLANZAKTION“ AN:



Wir beobachten es schon seit einigen Jahren: Unser Wetter ist extremer geworden. Hitzeperioden und schwere Unwetter sind auf dem Vormarsch. Dieser Klimawandel macht auch unseren Wäldern zu schaffen. Besonders düster sieht es für reine Fichtenwälder aus. Sie haben nur ein flaches Wurzelsystem und sind auf regelmäßige Niederschläge angewiesen. Wenn es stürmt, finden sie weniger Halt im Boden. Unter den veränderten klimatischen Bedingungen sind daher in Zukunft große Trockenschäden und Windwürfe zu erwarten.

Im Jahr 2019 haben wir begonnen​, am bayerischen Spitzingsee Bäume zu pflanzen.​

Die schnellwachsende Fichte ist der wichtigste Baum für die Forstwirtschaft. Wenn wir die Bestände erhalten wollen, müssen unsere Wälder umgebaut werden. Das heißt: Wir müssen die klimaempfindlichen Nadelwälder in widerstandsfähige Mischwälder verwandeln, die zu mindestens 30% aus Laubbäumen bzw. Tannen bestehen. Das ist ein Prozess, der sich über mehrere Jahrzehnte erstrecken wird. Aber wir können schon heute damit anfangen.

Jedes 25. Banff-Tour-Ticket = 1 Baum


Baum Icon

Gemeinsam mit unseren Partner Vaude und dem Deutschen Alpenverein wollen wir mithelfen, unseren Wald für den Klimawandel fit zu machen und pflanzen daher für jeden 25. Besucher der Banff-Tour einen Baum.

Warum wir unseren Wald schützen sollten:

Ein Hektar Wald...



filtert bis zu 50 Tonnen Ruß und Staub aus der Luft

setzt pro Jahr bis zu 30 Tonnen Sauerstoff frei

speichert in unseren Breiten ca. 10 Tonnen CO2 im Jahr

kann in seinem Leben bis zu 160.000 Kubikmeter neues Grundwasser bilden

Blume Icon

Danke an alle Banff-Tour Besucher für eure Unterstützung!

10 Tipps, wie wir den Wald schützen können:

1. Sei sparsam mit Holz & Papier​

Die beste und einfachste Möglichkeit Wälder zu schützen, ist Sparsamkeit im Umgang mit Holz und Papier. Holz ist zwar ein nachwachsender Rohstoff, dennoch ist er nicht unendlich verfügbar.​ Think before you print! 

2. Nutze Recyclingpapier

Um Wälder vor Abholzung zu schützen, nutze Recyclingpapier. Jeder fünfte Baum, der auf der Welt gefällt wird, landet in der Papierherstellung. Pro Kopf verbrauchen wir fast 250 kg Papier pro Jahr!

3. Achte auf Umweltsiegel 

Es gibt einige Organisationen, die sich für einen umweltbewussten Anbau und eine sparsame Produktion einsetzten. Ihre Siegel unterliegen strengen und aktuellen Umweltstandards. Der „Blaue Engel“ beispielsweise steht für 100% Altpapier, keine schädlichen Chemikalien und hohe Qualitätsanforderungen. Das FSC®-Siegel und das PEFC™ Siegel kennzeichnen Holzprodukte wie Druckpapier oder Verpackungsmaterial, welche sich durch hohe Umwelt- und Sozialverträglichkeit bereits in der Rohstoffherstellung bis zur Produktion auszeichnen. 

4. Kaufe Lebensmittel ökologisch bewusst

Um Regenwälder zu schützen und Ressourcen zu schonen, ist es ratsam, regionale Produkte zu kaufen und bei international gehandelten Lebensmitteln darauf zu achten, dass sie fair gehandelt und Bio-Produkte sind.

5. Konsumiere weniger Fleisch

Denn in Futtermitteln für die Mast werden Regenwald Gebiete zugunsten des Soja-Anbaus gerodet.

6. Vermeide palmölhaltige Produkte

Deren Anbau führt nach wie vor zur weitläufigen Rodung von Regenwäldern.

7. Werde Waldpate

Unterstütze örtliche Forstämter oder z.B. das Bergwaldprojekt durch Patenschaften, freiwillige Arbeit oder Baumspenden.

8. Sprich über dein Engagement

Ob im Freundeskreis, in der Familie in der Kaffeepause mit Kollegen und Kolleginnen: Sprich über dein Engagement. Das kann für Verständnis, Interesse und Teilnahme sorgen, vielleicht führt es auch zu einem gemeinsamen Teamevent.

9. Kompensation und CO2-Ausgleich

Das Auto einmal in der Garage parken und aufs Fahrrad schwingen -  wenn es der Flieger sein muss gibt es Airlines wie Lufthansa, die durch verschiedenste Ansätze ihren CO2 Ausstoß kompensieren. Mit einer Kompensationszahlung kannst du oft auswählen in welcher Form du deinen Flug kompensierst. Pflanzt du einen Baum, förderst du den Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien oder ersetzt du Kerosin doch lieber durch CO2-neutrale Kraftstoffe?  

10. Eine Suchmaschine mit nachhaltigem Ansatz nutzen

Mit jeder Suche über www.Ecosia.de trägst du zur Anpflanzung von Bäumen bei. Die ökologische Suchmaschine verwendet dafür die Einnahmen deiner Klicks. 

HIER FINDEST DU ALLE TERMINE DER BANFF-TOUR 2022: